top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Book Review: Gold

Updated: May 13

“I promised her I’d be the villain on her behalf. So that’s what I’ll fucking be.”

-Gold, Raven Kennedy


☆☆☆☆☆


 


**Spoilers for Gold**


From what I understood originally, Gold was supposed to be the final installment of the Plated Prisoner Series, but it switched to having a final book coming out this summer, Goldfinch. As much as I hate having to wait eight months for the next book, it was probably for the best because this book was packed. So far, this is the top book in the series for my next to Gleam. I read this series back to back, and these books flowed so perfectly into one another that it was hard to remember where one ended and the other began. 

There were four plotlines running intertwined throughout this book. There was the Slade “Villain Era” plotline, Auren “Fae” plotline, Malina “Sexy Shadow” plotline and Orsik “Dying Love Intrest” plotline. These four characters each have their own perspective, which would switch throughout the book. I thought that the different perspectives added to the book, but there were times when Auren would have a groundbreaking revelation, and it would switch to Malina in the snow. Why would you do that to me!? Controversial yet brave: I did not like Malina, but damn, did she get some redemption (though she has a long way to go). I don’t love the fact that she did not see the ill of her ways until an attractive man told her. But he was trying to kill her, so maybe it was an ‘oh shit’ when faced with death moment, but death also happened to be a hot man.

There was a major shift in the series in this installment, what I’d like to call Heir of Fire syndrome. For the SJM fans, there was a major shift in the third book, which completely changed the story and where it was going. A similar thing happened in Gold as we see that Auren is part of the Turley family and has a right to the throne of the Fae. The story's focus seems to shift away from the six kingdoms and toward Annwyn. I only wished that there was more foreshadowing to this or at least something. Auren’s memory of her childhood in Annwyn seems to fluctuate when it suits the plot. In the first few books, she has zero memory, while in this book, she has a stronger memory and is able to remember specifics. I’m assuming that Raven might have changed the plan of the series at some point and was not able to go back and change Gild. I won’t be too picky because once she is back in Annwyn, more memories will likely be recovered, but I noticed just the small inconsistency. 

While I loved seeing Slade in his villain era, all I could think about were the politics of him killing off the monarchs. It was great getting to see him get revenge and be the villain for Auren, but think about the politics! I’m on Ryatt’s side here. I appreciated that there was a voice of reason, but still loved seeing Slade pop off. The biggest reveal for me was that Slade is rotting from the inside out without Auren. This was a gut-punch reveal, and it was pulled off flawlessly. Another huge reveal and twist was that all the people in Deadwell went back to Slade’s father’s estate, including Slade’s mother. I’m going to be honest: I did see this as kind of predictable, but it was still an epic reveal, and unless you were reading super closely, you might not have been able to guess the reveal. (Having two manors, the description of rot, the new Oreans). We’ve only seen Slade’s father, Lord Cull, through flashbacks in Slade’s point-of-view. I assumed that after ‘The Rip’ Cull died, seeing him alive was a shock. The devastating cliffhanger we were left with was that the Stone King took Auren and the rebelling fae captive after being betrayed, and Auren was given something that seemed to erase her memory. 

I devoured Gold, and I cannot wait for the final installment.

Here are my major predictions for Goldfinch:

  • Auren will be reprogrammed 

    • Her memories of Slade have disappeared, and she will be reprogrammed to be loyal to the Stone King or Cull 

  • Wick is Auren’s father (or close relative)

    • Wick is shown to bleed gold, and only the Turley family can do that

  • Slade’s mom will die 

    • Either at her husband’s hand or her own, Raven will pull at our heartstrings

  • Auren will lose her gold-touch 

    • I just have a feeling that either Auren or Slade are going to lose their powers. Or Slade and Rip will combine. Something about their powers is going to be affected.

  • Auren and Slade will not take over the Fae kingdom

    • Auren does not seem to want to be royalty, and Salde isn’t a fan of politics 

  • It’s going to be a sad yet happy ending 

Those are some of my major predictions, and I’d be curious to see if any come true. Some are much more specific than others. I loved Gold, and I loved The Plated Prisoner series. This is a great series for someone who wants to get into fantasy. The first few books are a lot slower with no crazy, overly fantasy elements, and it build as the series goes. It is also nice and spicy. I CANNOT WAIT for August! 


TRIGGER WARNINGS: Kidnapping, torture, death, gore, violence, explicit sex, abusive relationship

RATING: Mature readers 18+

SPICE: 3/5

2 Comments


Yuxiao Chen
Yuxiao Chen
Feb 21

Hi Frey, sorry for reaching out in the comment here as I couldn't find a contact page😅I'm just wondering if you're open to a review request for a YA fantasy book from an indie author? Thank you :)

Like
Frey Quinlan
Frey Quinlan
Feb 21
Replying to

You can reach me at bookishfrey@gmail.com to send me more details! :)

Like
bottom of page