top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

What it feels like to have your bookstagram get hacked


 

So after a long day of working outside in the beautiful May 30+ degree weather (super unnormal for where I live) I got home to see that my bookstagram @bookishfrey got hacked. Long story short I fell for a scam that my friend also fell for. She asked me to vote for her in an influencers contest and of course I said yes to help her out. She sent a link for me to vote and within a few minutes it got into my booksta account. If it was my normal account I probably would not have cared because it was just band photos from high school. But the bookstagram account meant something to me. I joined over a year ago and put work and effort into the account, going through many phases as you can see through the 70 posts and who knows how many reels. I was devastated when I realized the account was locked from me and I was most likely not getting it


back. All that work that I put into the account gone. Even though there was only 320 followers I was proud how much I grew considering how little I posted. I had no clue what to do. Should I make a new account? Should I try getting the account back? Or should I just give up on bookstagram?

Eventually once I calmed down I decided that it was time for take 2. Who knows it might be even better this time? I made a new account now @bookishfrey_ and went through and followed everyone I had followed on the old account. Some people refollowed the new account and I explained what happened in the DMs. I made the first post the next day about the Grishaverse. In the description I talked about how my old account got hacked and that this would be the new account. I got so many comments welcoming me to bookstagram, little did they know I've been knew. Right now my plan is to get a bunch of drafts and be able to have a more consistent manner. Every second day I hope. Who knows maybe I'll grow more than before.

The best part of bookstagram is getting to talk to indie authors. I've read many ARCs from authors I met on booksta and am so grateful to get to review their books. Now that I have a better sense of my style hopefully the account will not be a mess of themes haha.

Thanks to everyone whos already followed and I very grateful that you're interested enough in my content to follow along. For everyone new the proper account to follow is @bookishfrey_ !!


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page