top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Book Review: City of Gods and Monsters

“Sweetheart, I am not a devil. I am the devil.”

-Kayla Edwards, City of Gods and Monsters


☆☆☆☆

 

Wow Kayla does it again! Bringing us an amazing new fantasy series, now for adults, it is everything you need. For fans of Crescent City who need a hangover cure this book has you covered. I'm not kidding I stayed up until midnight reading this book because I could not get enough! It's full of my favorite tropes, enemies-to-lover, sunshine girl-grumpy guy, and falling for the bodyguard. It’s a modern fantasy full of danger, action and a lot of spice.


PLOT

The plot follows Loren, a human girl in a magical world. After a friend is kidnapped Loren discovers that she was the original target and now has a bounty on her head. It gets intense when a would be kidnapper becomes a potential ally, and together they try to solve why someone would want a human. I loved the plot, at the end I did find it a little confusing because there was a lot going on, but still I was hooked. It stayed at a pretty good pace throughout picking up in the last couple chapters. There were so many twists, every time you thought you knew who the villain was, surprise you're wrong.


CHARACTERS

The two main baddies are Loren and Darrien. Loren is a sweetheart, super caring and a little feisty. Also a magical tattoo that tells you when your blood sugars low is genius. From the beginning there is a lot of mystery around her and let's just say you the twist will shock you.

Now on to Darrien. This man. All bad boy, no mercy, turns out he's a real cinnamon roll. He's definitely book boyfriend material.

At times it did feel like their relationship did go from 0 to 100 a little quickly, so I hope in future books we can see some more bonding on an emotional level because these two have loads of baggage. Like I said these two radiated sunshine girl and grumpy guy.

All the side characters were great, near the end when there was a lot of people in the scene I had a hard time remembering who was who but either than that I loved all the characters. My favourite was Darrien's sister because even though they are the same age she feels like the mom of the group.


WORLD

The world is a dark modern city but with vampires, shifters and devils. I loved it, can I go live in it? It's a modern fantasy world done well, the people and places feel natural and unforced. It's very detailed and I loved the tiny details that come into play later on.


I want to give a huge thanks to Kayla for letting my review her book! It is honestly such an honour to be given a book by an author in exchange for a review. If you like Crescent City or JLA this books is for you. I can't wait for the next book to see where this series goes!


TRIGGER WARNINGS: Fantasy violence, mention of suicide and depression, drug use

Rating: 17+, mature readers

Spice: 4/5


Follow Kayla on Instagram: kaylaedwardsauthor

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page