top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Book Review: Siren's Search

"Her laughter sounds like silver bells; did you know that? I don't even know how silver bells differ in sound from any other kind, but I am certain her laughter is silver bells."

-Siren's Search, Jen Lynning


☆☆☆☆


 



I found this book through bookstagram and it is a fantastic read. The series has four books, this being the fourth, and each focuses on a different couple in the series. I read this one without reading the previous novels, and I could still understand the story. I’m definitely going to go back and read the first books and be able to appreciate the story more. The book was great, it had fun characters, an interesting plot and plenty of romance.

The main characters are Reyn and Velario. Reyn is trying to find the source of her powers and try to control her lure and Velario is attempting to hide the troubles his bank is in. When the two meet they immediately hate each other but they are forced to work together for the good of the kingdom. Reyn is loveable and flirty while Velario is a huge grump. We all know he’s falling for Reyn but he’s convinced he hates her. There’s great banter and we get some wonderful fake dating trope, but it’s a fake courtship. The side characters are just as loveable as well. I’m excited to go back and read their stories.

The story is in the third person and told from both Reyn and Velario’s perspectives. The story is pretty simple and has three main plots. There’s Reyn’s plot as she is trying to understand her powers, Velario’s plot as he tries to save the bank and the romance plot as they fall in love <3. There’s a lot of overlap and it’s not as cut and dry as that but if you’re wondering what the book entails that would be it. The book went pretty fast with a few slow moments but never anything dull.

The world of Lhanaperi is beautiful. I imagine it as 1800s Europe with big dresses, balls and all that. With not reading the first books it was a little difficult to understand the magic of the world but I was able to get the just of it. Though the books are all about different couples I’d say they work best as a series and not a stand-alone so you could understand the world more.

I adored this book and I devoured it. I read it in the breakroom was had to drag myself away when it was time to get back to the floor. It has a good plot, lovable characters, romance and fantasy, what more can you want? Spice you say? Well this book has you covered! Like I said I cannot wait to read the rest of the series!


RATING: 16+ some mature scenes

SPICE: 2/5

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page