top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Book Review: The Devil

Updated: Feb 2

“My definition of what home was had also shifted, and when I thought of the elusive place where I felt safe and secure, it was Cort.”

-The Devil, Erin McLuckie Moya


☆☆☆☆



 

The long-awaited follow-up to The Tarot Club is here! I loved the first three books and was looking forward to The Devil and it did not disappoint. Thank you, Erin, for an ARC in exchange for a review and for adding me to your street team! Marie and Cort are back and we once again enter the world of witches, demons and magic. This book is not for the faint of heart because the spice gets, well, spicy. It has demon bonding, touch-her-and-you-die and other great tropes. I flew through this book, maybe taken me a day and a half. Anyone looking for spice and a good plot this book is for you.

The book jumps right where The High Priestess left off with Marie and Cort. Without any spoilers, the main plot of this story is about Maire and Cort’s relationship. The overarching plot between all the books is the ley lines and the war between witches, demons and humans, we don’t get as much on this as we did in the last book but there was enough to keep you hooked. Marie and Cort go through a lot in the book and again we get a dual POV which I loved. The plot was mixed with the spice and the spice flowed nicely in and out throughout the book. If you want well-written spice look no further than Erin. The Tarot Club as a whole has some of the best-written spice and tension I’ve read. Caution this is not fade to black spice! He has two… y’knows!!!

We get to see even more of Marie and Cort and how they are dealing with the twists from the last book. I loved how we got to see the softer side of Cort and he is only soft for Marie. We do get to see some characters from the first two books that I missed dearly and they are as horny as ever.

This book is great for people looking for spice. I can’t see how it can get spicier but I’m sure the next books will find a way. It’s a good witchy read and something for the spooky season though you can read it any time of the year. The only thing I wanted from this book was more. Even though the book is around the same length I felt like it was really short? Take it as a compliment when readers want the book to never end. I’m excited to know where the next book is going. Are we getting a new couple? More Cort and Marie? Dimi and Corinne? Either way I am excited to see where this series is going to go. Again a huge thanks to Erin and congrats on your release!


☪ Received an advanced copy but all thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.


Follow Erin on Instagram: erinmcluckiewrites


TRIGGER WARNINGS: Explicit sex scenes, fantasy violence, blood

RATING: 18+ mature readers

SPICE: 5/5


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page