top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Book Review: To Hunt a Ruby Remedy ARC

It didn’t matter that I had left my heart back in that field with Scarlette; I hadn’t been using it before she appeared on my doorstep either.

-To Hunt a Rudy Remedy, Jen Lynning


☆☆☆☆



 

To Hunt a Ruby Red is a cute little novella in a series of novellas all about dragons. It makes for a quick read, and it is worth it. It's a spoof of the classic fairytale Little Red Riding Hood, but the big bad wolf is an isolated healer and a dragon shifter. I was fortunate enough to receive an e-ARC from Jen in exchange for an honest review.

This is a cute little read for someone wanting something sweet and short. It is a nice mix of fantasy and romance with a touch of spice. There are some great tropes like Grumpy x Sunshine, Only One Bed and A Red Riding Retelling.

It follows Scarlette and Ranulf, and we get to see their POVs as they switch between chapters. I liked the characters, but they felt a little flat. Because of the novella's length, we couldn't dive into them fully, which is one of my favourite parts about reading new characters. For what they were, they were well done. Scarlette was the sunshine to cloudy Ranulf. They paired nicely together while being able to stand on their own two feet. I was rooting for them to get together. Ranulf is a refreshing character in a fantasy world that is overrun by hulking men whom everyone swoons over. He is a loner who is caring and kind though he does not anyone to know.

This world had a very interesting magic system, something we hadn't seen from Jen before. This magic system focused on the land's intrinsic healing magic compared to the incubus/succubus magic system we have seen before. I enjoyed this magic system, though at times, it was a little complicated, and I had to reread sections. Another fun part of this magic system is the shifting! Unlike the Big Bad Wolf, Ranulf shifts into a dragon! I loved that the Little Red Riding Hood story had a new, fresh twist.

I found the love story a little cheesy, but a little cheese is fine for romance. I'm personally a fan of slow-burn while this relationship moved at a quick pace. I loved the dynamic between the two, and they complemented each other nicely. There was also some nice spice to top it off. It was heartwarming to see these two characters open up to each other and themselves.

For something short and sweet, this is a great read. It is great for someone looking to get a taste of fantasy and romance without an overly complicated fantasical world. It has a little bit of everything romance, witty banter, a sunshine FMC paired with a broody MMC who is only soft with her and some magic. I really enjoyed this novella and I hope we get to see more of this couple and this world from Jen. Again huge thanks for an ARC!


CONTENT WARNING: Mild fantasy violence, mild spice

RATING: 16+

SPICE: 1.5/5


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page