top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Many Punctured Wings Review

Updated: Dec 13, 2021

"You are the only one who can hurt me." -Nicolette Beebe, Many Punctured Wings

☆☆☆☆

 


I met Nicolette through an Instagram engagement chat and immediately fell in love with her content. I was super excited when she asked me to read an ARC of her newest book. Many Punctured Wings is a contemporary dark romance targeted towards adults or mature younger readers (I'd say 17+ would be a good rating/trigger warnings will be at the bottom of the review). For my first time reading a contemporary dark romance I quite enjoyed it. The story felt like something I would see in a drama series and kept me on the edge of my seat!


Plot

The plot follows Alice Everton and her life after high school. Through the beginning, we see hints that she has a dark past and throughout the novel we see it come to haunt her. It has a typical drama plotline, he was a boy she was a girl can it be any more obvious ;). But it has enough twists to keep the readers engaged. The only thing I could say is that sometimes the 'plotline' seemed to be moving too fast. From 'we just met' to 'I love you' too quick, but that could be just my opinion I love slow-burn love. The twist at the end will have you wanting the next book ASAP!!


Characters

There are two main characters in this novel Alice Everton and Jake Taylor. They both have a typical drama feel to them but still are able to feel realistic. They both have traumas with their past relationships and are trying to move past them together.

I liked Alice, she was sweet but brave and knew what she wanted. If anything I wanted to know more about her and how much the trauma affected her.

Jake, I liked his chemistry with Alice but I found that he went from 0 to 100 quick. Again I'm a sucker for slow-burn romance and I just wanted more of them falling in love!

The side characters were well written they each had their own stories that intertwined them with the mainline and added to it. I hope in the next book we get to see more of Seth and why he's like this way and what made him choose the actions he did. Because no spoilers, he sucks.

At times the characters felt animated and lost realism at points but for a romance, it's expected. All in all, they were well written and their motives made sense.


World

The book is set in the modern world, something that we all know well so the world building is quite simple. It was pretty easy to keep track of where characters were at any time and that helped with reading it. The main places were written well to have a good image in your mind.


I'm so thankful Nicolette gave me the opportunity to read her newest book! Getting into new genres is always fun especially when you're getting to help out an author.

Many Punctured Wings is a great dark romance. The characters felt real and made you care about them. The plotline had many twists that kept you reading. And that ending! I can't wait for book two to see where Alice and Jakes' story goes.


Nicolette's Instagram: @33nbeebe



TRIGGER WARNINGS:

Domestic abuse, implied rape, assault, minimal fight/gore, eating disorders, kidnapping, human trafficking, PTSD, mature topics

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page