top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

Review: A Princess of Vision

Updated: Feb 2

“Black. Eternity folded into the space of a single heartbeat.”

-A Princess of Vision, Jen Lynning


☆☆☆☆.5


 

I discovered Jen last year through her series Treaties of Moial and love it. I received an ARC of her newest release, A Princess of Vision and am leaving an honest review. It was another amazing hit. Look no further than this book if you need a good romance read with a touch of spice and fantasy. This book was a chef’s kiss, and I love Jen’s writing. The world was new and exciting, the characters were fun and lovable, and there was some great romance. It had some great tropes, like the brother’s best friend, in love with the guard and touch her and die.

This book follows Josyn after she loses sight of a magic attack. To remain Balanced, she gains a new sense and can sense auras and emotions. To deal with her blindness, her brother, the king, gets his childhood best friend to become Josyn’s bodyguard, Aevin. He also happens to be her childhood crush. The plot follows her and Aevin while they dive into the depths of the court to find who is plotting against the king. I thought this was well done. The plot stayed focused throughout the book and was easy to follow. I would only want more about how Balance works and what it is. We got some initially, and I didn’t understand it but just went along. By the end of the book, we were able to see the effects of Balance and the way the people around it react to it, but some more, in the beginning, may have helped. I liked Josyn’s powers; they are similar to an empath’s powers in Empath’s Lure, but there is enough of a twist that it’s unique for this new series. One thing I think could have been added was some sort of glossary of the colours Josyn sees when she reads emotions. There were some nice twists and turns that I was left guessing who the villain was.

I liked the characters in the book as well. The two main characters are Josyn, the princess and Aevin, a beast. A beast is a person with heightened senses and almost primal instincts harkening back to our true human nature. The beast aspect was a little confusing; I was not really sure why they existed and how they are still created even though there is no longer True Balance. But I liked Josyn was paired with someone like Aevin. The tension between the two was great, and there were a couple of scenes in particular that I was squealing reading (IYKYK).

This was just an all-around good book. As I said, I loved the previous series, and I’m excited to dive into this one. A novella for this book is out if anyone is interested in reading it, A Lady of Truth. I enjoyed reading this book and could go back and reread it. It is a happily ever after with no cliffhangers and is a short-ish read. (my kindle is not showing me page numbers, but it is about a five-hour read). From what I know, there is another book in the works set in the same world but with new characters, and I’m excited to see what comes next in this world. Thank you again for the ARC, and I’m looking forward to what comes next in the series!


☪ Received an advanced copy but all thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.


TRIGGER WARNINGS: Kidnapping, forced undressing, assault, death

RATING: 17+ high school readers

SPICE: 2/5

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page