top of page
Writer's pictureFrey Quinlan

The Ocean's Daughter Review

"But sometimes dying for a dream is the most courageous act of all."

-Madison Wade


☆☆☆.5

 

I was asked if I wanted to read and write a review from the author and of course I said yes. This is Madison's debut novel and I truly enjoyed reading it. It is not the usual genre I would read, being partial to fantasy, but it was a great read to expand my tastes. I'm giving it 3.5 stars from my present self and 4 stars from my past self (I'll explain more in the review 😉).


Plot

The story followed a basic 'hero's plot' as I like to call it with a first-person POV from Cater Ellen Key. Carter has spent her whole life on the sea living on her father's ship The Adventurer. I found the first 200 pages (on my kobo there were 568 pages) were a lot of world-building, character introduction and setting us up for the conflict. As soon as the conflict came into play I got really invested. The rest follows the 'hero's plot' as I call it, where our hero is able to come past their troubles defeat the antagonist and save the day. Some parts I found a bit unrealistic, with the timing of events and others but they are easily looked past. I liked the plot, it was interesting, with twists and had a satisfying ending.


Characters

Our main character is Carter Ellen Key our head-strong, determined hero. I like Carter's character she's written to be strong and determined but her flaws are real. At times her stubbornness can get her in trouble and she is naive when it comes to life on land. One of my favourite things about her character is her trying to figure her feelings for one of the boys on her crew. It makes her feel like a real teenage girl, refusing to admit she likes him but knowing she's falling for him.

The antagonist Gargan, at times, felt too animated. He would go from zero to one hundred when something upset him. It made him a great villain but made him feel a little less real to me.

Carter's love interests, who will remain nameless to avoid spoilers, I liked them. They were both enough of their own characters to be more than just the 'love interest'. If there is a second book I'd like to see more about their characters and see how the romance develops.

I liked all the characters but at times they felt a bit stiff and the dialogue a bit forced. In the next book, I'd like to see more of the characters' backstories and get to know them more.


4 Stars From My Past-Self

To me, this book definitely felt targeted towards middle schoolers and I can tell you 12-year-old me this would be at the top of my list. Carter is a great role model for young girls. Growing up I always liked reading about the ocean because I live so far away from one. As an adult reading this I still enjoyed it but I feel it is best suited for middle schoolers. As an adult, I noticed some of the more forced dialogue and some of the more unrealistic scenes that I wouldn't as a kid, so that's why I took half a star off. If you are a fan of The Neptune Project (which I loved in middle school) by Polly Holyoke, The Ocean's Daughter is definitely for you.


Overall, I enjoyed the book. I think it is a great book for a young teenager getting into reading and looking for something full of adventure, a strong female lead and a touch of romance. Congratulations Madison on your debut novel I look forward to reading and reviewing the sequel!!


Following Madison on Instagram: @booksbymwade

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page